A Race Upon Me

In a week i will be running my second half marathon. The distance is same, but this race will be very different and i’m more nervous than i want to admit.

My first half was in October in 2009 and i spent the summer training and was very excited to run it because this was a new experience. Finding the time and motivation to train was very easy and i assumed this race would be the same. Boy, was i wrong. First of all, i am the mother of a new baby. I haven’t had a baby in 5 years and had completely forgotten how time and energy consuming they are. I love my little 10 month old, but he is not a good sleeper, in fact, he is a bad sleeper. Greg doesn’t really nap during the day, nor is he even close to sleeping through the night. I feel tired most of the time and i can feel the effects from it in some of my runs.

Nutrition is also something i paid more attention to for my last big race. There have been a few of my longer training runs i have had to cut short due to lack of energy and general stomach problems this time around. I want to eat healthy, i do, but we all know that when a person is exhausted and grouchy they don’t make the best decisions. I have slipped in the Mcdonald’s drive-thru or have just skipped meals a lot more than i care to disclose.

I have more challenges this time, but i have managed to get my training in and consider myself ready enough for this race. I would have liked to have worked on my speed more, would like to have dedicated more effort on the nutritional side of things, but it is what it is. As i write this, i have decided that it is never too late to make positive changes. I will dedicate this coming week to making better eating choices and try to stockpile some energy so i can give my body the best chance of performing well. The long-weekend beer will just have to wait 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to A Race Upon Me

  1. Christine says:

    The fact that you are doing this race inspires and amazes me Amy. I’ll be running with you in spirit next week my friend.

    It take a lot of hard work to rewire our brains to be healthy and add sleep deprivation in there, and I think you are doing amazing. I’m very proud of you and I can’t wait to hear how next week goes!

Leave a comment